I Luv Ya Papi: JLo and the Male Video Bitches

Years ago, I was nearly torn a new asshole by my feminism professor when I made the unfortunate mistake of stating something to the effect of the fight for equality was pretty much finished and women were equal to men.

After recovering from an intense berating and near asshole-tearing, I’ve since seen the folly of my ways so often that I believe I have permanent bitch-slap marks, and this is the most apparent in the modern music video. I wasn’t sure what everyone was on about when they were shocked by the Miley-Twerk. Have they not seen videos by some of the male rappers in the audience?

On another note, one of the best stand-ups I’ve seen in a while is a performer named Sommore. In the following routine, she talks about rappers and their “video bitches” (starts at 4:40). She closes with a line that makes me think that JLo put a spin on her words.

To be honest, I’m not a huge JLo fan but I like some of her music. The new single, “I Luv Ya Papi” might just change that, if only for a while. People will criticize and they have but I believe there is something valid to her argument. I, for one, enjoy the video and like the fact that the male-female exposed skin ratio is reversed. I like the fact that the men actually look like they are having fun wearing designer grape smugglers and banana hammocks, as opposed to women in other videos in uncomfortable clothing and positions, in mansions and yachts.

There is something to be said for making this sort of choice, as a pop artist. Who are these self-proclaimed arbiters of music video taste?

I would imagine, more often than not, that the ones who choose are men and as heterosexual men, they will prefer to dwell on the female body more than I care to. Objectification isn’t kosher, any way you look at it. I know this first hand as a seemingly innocent conversation with the husband of a friend, about weight loss, turned into a massively invasive conversation about which positions I liked and would I do a threesome. I later find out that he has had similar conversations with virtually every single female he knows and in a way, that sort of objectification could be from a combined result of seeing sexy women who don’t talk and his inability to say anything to a woman (he messaged the above conversation to me).

I’m cool with seeing near-naked bodies. I don’t freak out when I see a man wearing a Speedo or a woman wearing a tanga.

I’m just troubled by people who can’t look past that and see what’s inside.

It’s your call but I like seeing my menfolk. Only difference is I prefer seeing Guy Garvey from Elbow over a Ralph Lauren model.

Guy Garvey from Elbow

Guy Garvey from Elbow

Leave Fumi a Reply

