Ground Control to Major Tom: Commander Chris Hadfield and the Universe of His Experiences

As this year rolls to a close, I wanted to look back at Commander Chris Hadfield and his five-month mission in outer space. I do really get blown away by people and their different experiences and even more so when those experiences are only had by a handful of people. Just as I felt when Felix Baumgartner jumped from the stratosphere to Earth to break records on his way down, I feel a warm sentiment of pride towards Commander Hadfield.


Most everyone who is connected will know him as the man who recorded a video in space, singing David Bowie’s “Space Oddity”. He is also considered the most social media-savvy person to have ever gone up into space. But aside from all that, there is something else that intrigues me. That all this began with a dream of a boy, who wanted to fly to space when, as a teenage Canadian in the 70s, was quite the impossibility. As Canada advanced in space technology with Canadarm, a robotic system attached to a space shuttle, there was the birth of an opportunity for a kid with a big dream to fulfill his destiny.

This fascinates me because I see each event as a bread crumb trail, weaving through a fantastically interesting life. And to know that there is a person who really is one of a counted few who has done (and could do) the things he has done fills me with a sense of belonging. Belonging because as varied and as strange as all the things I’ve done can seem, all contained in my one person, I know that I could never top the disconnected strangeness of meeting a person who has actually been in space. And in a way, that makes us crew of the same boat.

Because he thought outside of the box and I aspire to do the same thing.

Thank you Commander for being an inspiration to all of us and for having dreamt a dream bigger than imagination and just as grand as the cosmos.

How to put a little variety in your space food. Chef Traci Des Jardins changes up the food that gets sent up to the space station. Chris prepares the recipe and tries it out.

Leave Fumi a Reply

