Scared of Heights: The Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao Sky Pool

Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao Cantilever Indoor Swimming Pool. Quite a mouthful but I'm sure you'll forget about than when you swim across the glass bottom.

Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao Cantilever Indoor Swimming Pool. Quite a mouthful but I’m sure you’ll forget about than when you swim across the glass bottom.

I’ve always experienced a bit of frustration when I would go to hotels and use their indoor pools, mainly because they weren’t long enough for my taste. I would always have to do a flipturn before I even got into the groove of my stroke.

The Cantilever Indoor Swimming Pool at the Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao is a completely different story altogether.

That’s because chief architect, Sonny Chan built a pool with a nine-meter lip that extends from the edge of the building, complete with a glass-bottom floor, where you can see 24 stories below you. It is reinforced with concrete and six sheets of glass so really, you will have very little to worry about when you swim across it. If there was a complaint to be made, it’d be of the purple Twinkies you crapped because it was a little more than scary.

And looking at this, I realized I had seen this concept before. Anyone remember the pool scene in “Oblivion” with Tom Cruise?

The "Oblivion" Sky Tower. Yes, with a transparent-bottom swimming pool. Perhaps one day?

The “Oblivion” Sky Tower. Yes, with a transparent-bottom swimming pool. Perhaps one day?

Leave Fumi a Reply

