Glimpse into the Windows of my Soul: Shu Uemura’s 6 Heart Princess False Eyelashes

When I was a little kid, my mom used to try to paste semi-circle pieces of Scotch tape to my eyelids to condition my lids to create a crease, making my eyes look bigger. I always refused this and I can safely say, that was a defining point in my life. I was born with these features so why the hell not make the best of them?

Perhaps because of that, eyes have always intrigued me. There is a complexity about them because they are the authors of the subtlest of all body language, yet reveal the most about a person. I was brought up in a culture where staring someone in the eyes is a sign of imprudence and you should be just polite enough to look away a good deal. It is something that forces you to focus quickly and take note of things quickly. Yet growing up, I began to notice that while there were kids who wanted larger eyes, there were Western anime fans who were in love with having smaller eyes.

So you make do and so I resorted to make up.

When false eyelashes entered my life, I was blown away. After years of thinking I could never wear them because my own lashes angled downwards, my MAC consultant at the time recommended a pair. You would never think that a face would change that much from wearing something that precarious but I felt people being drawn in by them. There is something pleasantly three-dimensional about those peculiar wisps of hair. It’s like wearing a pair of six-inch Louboutins on your eyes.

In particular, the Takashi Murakami’s Black Jewel on Wing False Lashes for Shu Uemura’s 6 Heart Princess look. Before you boys start running out to buy a pair for your girl, the $75 USD price tag may be something to consider. They are limited edition and yes, if I had the money, I would buy them in a heartbeat.

Murakami Takashi for Shu Uemura Black Jewel on Wing False Lashes. These are pretty impressive.

Takashi Murakami for Shu Uemura Black Jewel on Wing False Lashes. These are pretty impressive.

There are also the Princess Love in Wink lashes, as well, which have a heart-shaped adornment right on the lashes and would set you back $30 USD.

Murakami Takashi for Shu Uemura Heart Lashes. The color gives you another air about your factions.

Takashi Murakami for Shu Uemura Love in Wink Lashes. The color gives you another air about your factions.

I remember thinking that I would look very fake if I ever wore lashes. Looking at the promo photo, however, I would say that I honestly wouldn’t mind at all. They look rather fetching.

Disclaimer: My parents would beat me over the head for having done this but in Japanese, the first name always follows the last name so technically, it should be Murakami Takashi and Uemura Shu.

6 Heart Princess by Murakami Takashi for Shu Uemura. If you can't tell, both models are wearing the above false lashes. It's sort of a nice dreamy look.

6 Heart Princess by Takashi Murakami for Shu Uemura. If you can’t tell, both models are wearing the above false lashes. It’s sort of a nice dreamy look.

2 thoughts on “Glimpse into the Windows of my Soul: Shu Uemura’s 6 Heart Princess False Eyelashes

  1. In trying to get a better look at thes lashes, I came across your post…just FYI, they’re on sale on shu uemura’s website for $48. I don’t know if that makes a dream a reality but shu uemura makes the best lashes for daily use, but also the most fanciful, dreamworthy ones as well.

    • Thanks for that! I am in between jobs so I shouldn’t buy these but mark my words, as soon as I get one, I will definitely be buying these! What brand do you usually wear?

Leave Fumi a Reply

