Strike a Pose: MotoCorsa’s Manigale Hot Mess Ducati Photo Shoot

MotoCorsa's Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: You know, with his legs, he nearly pulls this off.

MotoCorsa’s Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: You know, with his legs, he nearly pulls this off.

I have an affinity for motorcycles and fast cars. But I’ve never been a fan of the pit girls and the bikini-clad women on bikes. Sex may sell but for me, it has never been even remotely close to being a reason for purchasing something. Apologies to the men and women folk who like that but I just want to shove the model aside so that I can have a better view.

This, however, caught my attention. And may make me a Ducati fan yet.

MotoCorsa, out in Portland, Oregon, did one of these typical photo shoots with a young female model on the Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale. According to the website, their technicians and mechanics wanted in on the modeling as well (I had read elsewhere that they were reticent and some needed tooth-pulling, to say the least).

What follows is a spectacular piece of marketing. Men who are not professional models donned slingbacks (if they could fit into them) and with hairy legs and all, adopt as closely as they could, the poses of the female model.

So I pondered over the situation. The female model obviously was put forth in an aesthetic light. Some of the men were a little more silly but for the most part, there was a certain beauty to how they were presented. So if I were to think of what kind of “sexy” could sell, I would wager that a man would get more turned on by a woman who was actually riding the bike than just standing there in a hyper-exaggerated reality (no woman I know would walk into a body shop wearing what the model was wearing). But the obvious reason that this original shoot was commissioned proves I am wrong on some accounts: it sells, which is why they did it.

What this shoot does is it puts it in your face what you are really looking at. You are looking for something that appeals to you and that formula is disrupted by seeing motor heads, mechanics and tech guys, normal and ordinary bike riders, and those who would actually be riding the bike, in those positions.

Too bad they don’t want to make you wear the clothes as well. Because if that were the case, I would have to go out and get blue jeans, steel-toe boots, a leather jacket, a bandana, tattoo and a beard for my Harley riding.

MotoCorsa's Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: Everyone see my chest?

MotoCorsa’s Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: Everyone see my chest?

MotoCorsa's Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: Oh that looks uncomfortable...

MotoCorsa’s Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: Oh that looks uncomfortable…

MotoCorsa's Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot:  And stretch!

MotoCorsa’s Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: And stretch!

MotoCorsa's Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: I would have said he was a speed skater...

MotoCorsa’s Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: I would have said he was a speed skater…

MotoCorsa's Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: I'm the only person who uses a mirror to apply Chap Stick...

MotoCorsa’s Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: I’m the only person who uses a mirror to apply Chap Stick…

MotoCorsa's Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: Now let me just get into a handstand....

MotoCorsa’s Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: Now let me just get into a handstand….

MotoCorsa's Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: I shall contemplate life. Do not bother me.

MotoCorsa’s Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: I shall contemplate life. Do not bother me.

MotoCorsa's Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: I think the shoes aren't in his size.

MotoCorsa’s Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: I think the shoes aren’t in his size.

MotoCorsa's Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: You think that's hot? Let me unzip this....

MotoCorsa’s Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: You think that’s hot? Let me unzip this….

MotoCorsa's Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: Damn, I'm running late for a meeting. Wearing shorts. And slingbacks.

MotoCorsa’s Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: Damn, I’m running late for a meeting. Wearing shorts. And slingbacks.

MotoCorsa's Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: Buy this bike, bitch!

MotoCorsa’s Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: Buy this bike, bitch!

MotoCorsa's Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: I love you 1199. *muak* *muak* *slurp*

MotoCorsa’s Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: I love you 1199. *muak* *muak* *slurp*

MotoCorsa's Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: You know, this wall has an interesting pattern.

MotoCorsa’s Ducati Superbike 1199 Panigale/Manigale Photo Shoot: You know, this wall has an interesting pattern.

2 thoughts on “Strike a Pose: MotoCorsa’s Manigale Hot Mess Ducati Photo Shoot

  1. Fumi, thanks for the great post and the support! We loved creating these images and had no idea everyone would love them so much. BTW, your photo captions are brilliant! Thanks again!

    • Arun: As a person who loves photography, I just thought this was fabulous. What you’ve done for this type of photography is really ask why this captivates and I applaud you and your companions for doing this. I mean, it’s not easy in such a testosterone-driven field to break the mold and it requires a visionary to think outside the box. So kudos to you and your boys. It might just be the beginning of a turn in the tides. And you all started it.

Leave Fumi a Reply

