Stepping into Fashion: Rick Owens Spring-Summer Women’s Collection 2014

From Rick Owens' Spring-Summer 2014 Collection. Steppers walking the catwalk.

From Rick Owens’ Spring-Summer 2014 Collection. Steppers walking the catwalk.

I’ve always been fascinated by stepping and I think it goes back to when I was in elementary school, we had to do this cheer called “Step-By, Step-by-Step.” I always thought it was so cool but on the inside, I felt it was egoistic to attract attention to yourself through dance.

Fortunately, I’ve wandered far from that mindset to try out flamenco and individual sports.

And so it was with enthusiasm that I saw this video of Rick Owens’ Spring-Summer 2014 collection with the word “step” in it. The collection moves and is gritty, but sophisticated at the same time. You look at the clothes and you know it would work on a normal-sized woman. A woman who is not a teenager in an idealized teenager body. A woman who has hips and a bust, moving in the clothes with the energy of a multi-tasking female. A woman who expresses who she is and what group of fierce women she belongs to.

The models of this show did not walk: they celebrated freedom and movement.

Don’t get me wrong: I love the beauty of Christian Lacroix, the elegance of Lanvin and the proper glamourousness of Chanel. But I know me and I know I am a multi-faceted woman. I know that rolling out of bed is not a Dior moment. I know finishing a triathlon does not hearken Louboutin hither. And just as I know that I may not be wearing Balenciaga before the year ends, I know that style follows you, regardless of the price tag.

And these women have tremendous style, both inside and out.

Rick Owens' Spring Summer 2014 Step Show: Dancing with the Heart

Rick Owens’ Spring Summer 2014 Step Show: Dancing with the Heart

Rick Owens' Spring-Summer 2014: An expression of step dancing and liberation of movement

Rick Owens’ Spring-Summer 2014: An expression of step dancing and liberation of movement

Rick Owens' Spring-Summer 2014 Finale: Dancing off stage

Rick Owens’ Spring-Summer 2014 Finale: Dancing off stage

 

Leave Fumi a Reply

