The World’s Fastest Man on a Bike: Eric Barone

I know the purists will have at me seeing as that Eric doesn’t actually pedal; he rides down the sides of mountains in a straight line. He is, however, the record-holder on both gravel and snow and there are so many things that make me wonder about his mental stability. Those same things also remind me that I need to be just as crazy.

Here’s what I see: a 53 year-old man running around in a foam-padded suit, one year looking a like tree (I kid you not) and the next, a red Lego astronaut. He wears a round-ended cylinder over his already-helmeted head and gets on a highly souped up bike. And oh, he rides down the sides of mountains at over 100 mph.

I imagine him having the thought, maybe over a beer or a glass of wine: I wonder how fast I can go on a bike, downhill? Then, tempestuously, he rushes out the next day to find a bike to do a couple of test runs. A snowball effect that rolls into this hugely insane stunt that nearly got him killed on Cerro Negro in Nicaragua.

It may be dangerous. It may be stupid. But I am a fan of people who can push the boundaries. Without turning into “Jackass.”

You’ll want to turn up the volume for this video. I swear it’s worth it.

Can I just say, I want this Fox fork (I think it’s a Float 40).

Eric Barone as a Tree. With my favorite Fox fork.

Eric Barone as a Tree. With my favorite Fox fork.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The crash on Cerro Negro Volcano in Nicaragua, 2002.

French cyclist Eric Barone flies through the air as his bike cracks in half during a crash, 12 May 2002, on the Cerro Negro volcano in Nicaragua. Barone was attempting for the third time to break his 170 km/hour (105.63 mph) world bicycle speed record on the volcano, 122 kms (76 miles) from Managua. Barone hurt his right shoulder in the fall.  AFP PHOTO/Jeronimo OPORTA

French cyclist Eric Barone flies through the air as his bike cracks in half during a crash, 12 May 2002, on the Cerro Negro volcano in Nicaragua. Barone was attempting for the third time to break his 170 km/hour (105.63 mph) world bicycle speed record on the volcano, 122 kms (76 miles) from Managua. Barone hurt his right shoulder in the fall. AFP PHOTO/Jeronimo OPORTA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Eric Barone: A Normal Guy

Eric Barone: A Normal Guy

Leave Fumi a Reply

