Dreaming About the Final Frontier: Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson and the Space Program

Felix Baumgartner's Red Bull Stratos Jump

Felix Baumgartner’s Red Bull Stratos Jump

Last year, I was fascinated by the Red Bull Stratos jump by Felix Baumgartner. I remember thinking about it later and wondering what really made it special. What did a man jumping off the edge of space do to make this something noteworthy? I did not understand. I wasn’t sure. All I could feel was how happy I was that he had landed safely.

I remember reading somewhere that someone had said it was our generation’s moon landing.

Moon landing? That little phrase woke something in me. The Jetsons. Buck Rogers. Battlestar Galactica. Star Trek. Star Wars.

And that made me realize that we don’t think too much about traveling into outer space anymore. Who thinks about going to the moon now?

I studied humanities courses in the university. Writing was born from that. And passion is what fueled it. I never thought of passion and science in the same vein before I heard of Dr. Tyson. We stopped dreaming, he said. We stopped looking towards the stars and feeling eager about discovering questions we did not have the answers for. We stopped wondering and stretching and searching.

And I felt in that moment like the adult who decided to leave behind the inner child and grow up.

I write this because I am just as guilty as the next person. I told all to dream but I did not tell them to reach beyond the stars. And though I feel that I do not have the power to influence, I feel it is my duty to promote the journey of discovery. To unify a planet. To remind ourselves that there is something so precious to protect, a place that is shared, regardless of what language you speak and what side of the border we live on.

We Stopped Dreaming Part 1

We Stopped Dreaming Part 2

Felix Baumgartner’s Red Bull Stratos Mission

Leave Fumi a Reply

