Music: The Billboard Music Awards and the Return of A-Ha’s Morten Harket

I am not one to deny my roots. Growing older, you figure out what you need to take with you and what you need to leave behind.

And I hope I’ve picked up the good stuff and brought it forward.

Now, some of you may contest and beg to differ but my taste is my taste. And figuring as that I haven’t written in a while, I thought that writing about a comeback to a widely visible stage like the Billboard Music Awards is a good thing as any to start with. Better late than never.

I have been an A-Ha fan since I was 12 or 13. I’ve never been a true fan of “Take on Me” but I did enjoy what the song did for my group.

Years have gone by. Friends in high school gave way to friends in university, who in turn, gave way to the friends I have made in Mexico. It was only in 2010 did I find out that they were to come to the States in a farewell tour. I missed them once before; I am not letting that happen again.

And now, in 2013, with a song I consider a bit sub par, the famous riff from that famous video makes its way back into the spotlight through Pitbull and Christina Aguilera.

There were two interviews that followed this performance, one by an editor of Billboard Magazine, who didn’t even have Morten’s name right. I believe the interviewer ran out of questions to ask because he ended with an awkward pause and started interviewing JLo’s dancers, which was edited out of this clip.

And the second, more serious interview, in the press conference.

I had not liked “Take on Me” for a very long time. Until I went to that concert. And for me sitting in the very last row of the Nokia and belting out the words of every single song played that evening, that particular song has become an anthem of my adolescence and a callback to my roots. And I am going to be true to those roots from now on out.

Take on me. Forever.

Ending On a High Note Farewell Tour ticket from A-Ha's last concert in 2010.

Ending On a High Note Farewell Tour ticket from A-Ha’s last concert in 2010.

Leave Fumi a Reply

