Music: Ed Sheeran

Every now and so often, I come across music that surprises me. And more often than not, the source is the most impressive.

Ed Sheeran is a 22 year-old redhead from Suffolk who sings, raps, plays guitar and writes his own songs. He’s gritty and poignant in the way a person that young would be when they know they’ve got nothing to lose. And he reminds me of things I should try to be, me, a 38 year-old woman who isn’t ashamed of saying that someone 16 years her junior is quicker on the draw. I suppose hearing the lyrics makes me wonder how he grew up so quickly.

There are three songs I particularly like and are worth sharing. Someone else might just learn something from him too.

1. “Drunk.” A very cute video.

2. “Small Bump.” This song really moved me. Especially the very last line of the song.

3. “You Need Me, I Don’t Need You.” Gritty and powerful. I like the use of the British Sign Language.

Leave Fumi a Reply

