Opine: Change and the Mayan Prophecy

I’ve always been a straight shooter. I can’t do anything else but. So when I start writing sporadically on this blog, I figured I better come clean. It would seem random and then a little forced if I just wrote an upbeat post out of the blue so here it goes:

I’ve been having a lot of problems with work. Errors that I committed and tried really hard to correct. But when you don’t like what you do, it isn’t going to be easy to do things perfectly. I was stressed and had gotten a pretty bad cold. Then I was just completely drained when Mom came to visit.

But perspective is always a marvelous thing.

Letting go of your own restraints is probably one of the hardest things you have to do. You’re used to the routine of it. It’s within your comfort zone. It’s what you know. But I can’t live with the frustration of feeling my life passing me by like a Pharcyde song not getting my shit together.

So when the ancient Maya said that this December 21, 2012 is going to be a change of era (and not the end of the world, as so many think it is), I am starting to see it and believe it. I am too old to be doing shit I don’t like. Way too old.

So what is my plan? Take Change by the horns and ride that badboy all the way to the bank.

I need two things:

1. A steady source of income that will allow me to pay the bills and is flexible enough so that I have time for other activities.

2. Preparing myself skill-wise so that I can branch out and fulfill my calling.

What is my calling, you may ask?

I’ve got an idea but I’m not saying.

I’m going to keep the sex of this baby secret until it comes to term, sweetheart.

I feel that my ideas need to be reigned in, tightened, focused. I have a lot of interests (this blog shows that) but I need to see what is it that I can make work for me. I remember when I was going into college, I basically had my major decided for me by my father. It eventually became a major that I thought, “that would be interesting.” The problem was that I didn’t see the big picture and realize that yes, it is interesting but not necessarily true to me.

I am on the curve and taking it as I slowly accelerate.

Destiny’s got my hand folks and she’s telling me to run with it.

3 thoughts on “Opine: Change and the Mayan Prophecy

  1. I like your writing. It’s what I consider *tight* writing…
    …How do you interpret the mayan date? What’s the *new era* supposed to be about? I’m curious. I’ve honestly never even really looked into it?!

    • Thank you very much for the compliment, Adam! I’m rather fond of your writing as well.

      Supposedly, there is this hype about the end of the world with several Mayan prophecies to boot. What it really is is that it is the end of a very long cycle that lasted 5125 years, to be coming to an end on December 21, 2012. I’ve been looking into the topic and it really is hard to get facts on the topic and the only thing that is for certain is that it is the end of an era.

      Many have said that it is preceeded by 12 years of cataclismic happenings to teach the world that it needs a sort of spiritual cleansing to understand all the wrong that has been done and pass on to the new era with lessons learned from these wrong-doings.

      I like the idea of that but I cannot be certain that the Maya have predicted to a “t” all of this.

      I’ll write a post on it once I have it better researched.

Leave Fumi a Reply

