Music: “Beauty and a Beat” by Justin Bieber featuring Nicki Minaj

At the risk of losing readership (1 out of 1), I have to comment on this video.

Just so you know, I am not a Bielieber. I’ve never bought any of his music and I have passively listened to my friends’ hate rants on the subject. But I was curious when I saw that Nicki was featured on this song so I watched the video.

From a cinematographic point of view, I loved it. The use of an underwater/motion-stabilizer cam with the fabulous overhead shots of synchronized swimming in the pool and the long shots made me think of a modern-day touch of Busby Berkeley.

The song is kind of cute too. Please don’t hate me. I just am not scared of owing up to my likes and this is one of them.

Bieber is no Busby Berkley in terms of choreography nor direction but I do like the fact that someone is doing synchronized swimming in their videos…even if it’s the Bieber.

Did anyone else freak out when Ruby Keeler started singing?

2 thoughts on “Music: “Beauty and a Beat” by Justin Bieber featuring Nicki Minaj

  1. I dont have any of the Biebs on the old I-pod but I do sadly like the new Taylor Swift song “we are never,never getting back together” I think I will go revoke my own man card now…thanks!

    • You know, I had to watch the video because I’ve never heard the song before. It’s like Lisa Loeb meets Bloodhound Gang. I can kind of see how you would like it.

      Maybe you can trade in your Man Card for a Hetero-Ambiguous Card! Hee!

Leave Fumi a Reply

