Triathlons: Meeting Heroes and Tweeting Them

Michellie_Jones_Triathlete_Magazine

Michellie Jones on the November 2007 cover of Triathlete Magazine. The first tri mag I ever bought.

I started thinking about doing a triathlon when I hit 30. A good friend of mine had done one in honor of her mother who passed from breast cancer. It wouldn’t be until years later that I would actually do one. I would buy magazines and read about the newest gadgets.

It was in December 2008 when I did my first sprint.

Nine months later, I would do my first 70.3 Ironman.

Michellie Jones was there and I was such a giddy schoolgirl that I couldn’t even say “hi” when she walked past me. I would see her at the Cancun 70.3 until the 70.3 World Championships were moved to take place two weeks before. No one, pro or otherwise, would be foolish enough to risk injury by doing the two events back to back. And the World Championships being what they are, EVERYONE prefers that over Cancun.

So that was the end of my ever properly meeting Michellie.

Or was it?

A while back, I took a blogging class and Twitter was a big part of pimping your blog. Follow the people you like and conduct conversations with these people.

So I open Twitter the other day and saw that Michellie had a bit of a rough patch with a fellow swimmer at the pool. So I tweeted a response.

AND SHE ANSWERED. AND RETWEETED ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

GoMichellie tweets GlamTriathlete

@GoMichellie tweets @GlamTriathlete

11 thoughts on “Triathlons: Meeting Heroes and Tweeting Them

      • thanks. Muah! 🙂 Must be al of the bubbles in the caffeine I drink. ;))!!! take care, “maja” ! Haha! Ilearned that from you, girl! What’s new!

        ~Suphie

      • The internet makes me always work harder, too, knowing I’ll be getting feed-back! That might be the cause of my bubbliness. 🙂 Might be. How are you? Thanks. ~Suphie.

      • I can almost hear you speak. You’ve got an interesting cadence to your though process. I almost feel as if it’s Hammy from “Over The Hedge” talking. That’s pretty damn sweet. I’m doing quite well. How are you, my dear Suphie? Share that drink, will you?

      • “CADENCE” is a lovely word, my dear, “Tauro-maja” and I have to say that I was drinking “Vernors.” By the way, I’m glad you can hear me speak; computers have a way of making us feel as though we can “be in each other’s minds” don’t they? 🙂 It’s like they’re a special organ we can use or something. Just wrote another review! It’s on: “Midnight in Paris.” By the way, I just cut off the tips of my special “toe socks” which are purple like your arm sleeves, just 2 give them that special look, but without the craziness. Have a good weekend, Maja! 🙂

  1. Hammy is the one on the left: http://www.imdb.com/media/rm408197120/tt0327084

    I’ll have to read that post. I’ve been recommended by a couple of friends to watch that movie and that I’d love it. I usually like most of what Woody does. My favorite is a toss up between “The Sleeper”, “The Purple Rose of Cairo” and “Everyone Says I Love You”. I know you can’t REALLY have a toss up between three things but there you go.

    Do a fabulously crazy pedicure with your open-toe socks. I bet that would rock. 🙂

Leave Fumi a Reply

