Books: Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen by Christopher McDougall

I am a true fatalist. I believe in fate and I believe things happen to you when they are supposed to.

I had bought this book a while back and was stuck on chapter 5. With my laptop in the shop, however, I had no other activity other than reading for my evenings at home. I picked up this book on Saturday and stopped on Sunday, when I turned the final page.

It’s been a long time since I actually cried while reading a book and I had cried because I realized as a reaffirmation that my training had gone straight into the toilet because I just didn’t enjoy it anymore. And as I read about how much of a joy it was for the Tarahuamara to run in their rubber tire sandals for 56 miles, I just had to stop and think about it.

Just like when I had gone through my weight loss and realized how much I had to have hated myself to have gotten to the weight I was, I realized that I had started to hate the training so much that my body shut down.

It told me, “You don’t like what you’re doing. We don’t like what you’re doing. We’re shutting your ass down. You’re going to run 13 km in two hours in the blistering heat even though you can run faster because we hate you for hating you.”

My body is a lot smarter than me. At least someone is thinking in this relationship.

Leave Fumi a Reply

